In This Section

What is the Pennsylvania point system?

When you get a driver's license in Pennsylvania, you agree to abide by the laws of the road. If you break them, you face legal consequences. Besides fines and possible driver's license suspension, moving violations also may add points to your driver's license record, according to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.

The points are set for different types of violations. The idea behind them is to keep the roads safer and to encourage good driving. You can get up to six points before the state takes action. Once you reach six points, you face further punishment under the law. What may happen depends on whether this is your first time reaching six points or not.

The first time you reach six points ever on your license or you reach six points after a period of 12 months in a row without any points, it is a first-time offense. The state sends you a written notice. You may have to take an exam that tests you on road laws, safety issues related to driving and safe driving practices. You will have 30 days to take and pass the exam. If you fail to do so, the state may suspend your license until you pass. If you do take and pass the exam within the 30-day limit, you get two points removed from your record. Do note that if you are a minor, once you reach six points, the state suspends your license for 90 days automatically.

If you reach six points for the second time, you must attend a hearing. At the hearing, they review your driving record. You may incur a sentence of a 15-day license suspension and/or have to take an on-road exam. If you do not attend the hearing, the state suspends your license for 60 days. If you are sentenced to take the exam and you pass it within 30 days, you have two points removed from your record.

For any subsequent reaching of six points, you also must attend a hearing. The state may suspend your license for up to 30 days or until you show up for the hearing if you fail to show up on the assigned date.

If you reach 11 points, the state issues an automatic suspension of your license. For the first time, you get five days per point. The second time is 10 days per point. The third time is 15 days per point, and any subsequent times is a one-year suspension. This information is for education and is not legal advice.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

We look forward to helping resolve your legal issues.

Call 866-343-8555 today to arrange a confidential consultation with an experienced lawyer at our firm. Or, if you prefer, complete the brief online form.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Bononi & Company, P.C.
20 N Pennsylvania Avenue
Suite 201
Greensburg, PA 15601

Toll Free: 866-343-8555
Phone: 724-972-4180
Fax: 724-836-0370
Greensburg Law Office Map

Review Us Google Map
Email Us For A Response